The Argyle Board of Directors

The Argyle Institute of Human Relations is a not-for-profit organization, recognized by the Canada Revenue Agency as a Registered Charity. The Affairs of the Argyle are managed by a Board of Directors with fifteen members from both within the institute and outside. Directors are elected in late fall by the Annual General Meeting of members for two year terms which may be renewed twice. According to the Bylaws, Officers include a President, a Vice-President, a Past-President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer.

Directors and Officers 2017-2018

Moira Luce MSW, MFT - President

Moira is the President of the Board of Directors of the Argyle Institute, and has been a member of the organization since 2010. Moira is a Psychotherapist and Couple & Family Therapist in private practice in Montreal. With over a decade of experience, she provides confidential psycho-therapeutic counselling on a range of personal and relational issues to individuals, couples and families. She also teaches the Ethics course in the Marital and Family Therapy program at the Argyle. Moira holds a Master of Social Work (MSW) degree from McGill University, a Postgraduate Accredited Diploma in Marital and Family Therapy (MFT) from the Argyle Institute, and an Honors Bachelors degree in Psychology from Queen’s University. She is a licensed member of the Quebec Order of Social Workers and Marital Family Therapists (OTSTCFQ), holding the titles of Clinical Social Worker(CSW) and Marital and Family Therapist (MFT) and holds the permit of Psychotherapist with the Order of Psychologists of Quebec (OPQ).

Mia MacSween - Vice-President

Richard Bolton PhD, FCNS - Past-President

Richard was born in Montreal 1939, attended Lower Canada College, McGill University (BSc 1960, MSC 1963) and the Université de Montréal (PhD Physics 1966). His academic career includes Assistant Professor Physics (U. de M. 1966-1968), part time Lecturer UQAM (1974-1978) and Adjunct Professor INRS, Université du Québec (1985-1999). His research career included Senior Research Associate, UK Atomic Energy Authority (1968 – 1973), Senior Research Scientist at the Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec, Director General, Canadian Centre for Magnetic Fusion (1977-1997). He served as a Member of the Science Council of Canada, the National Research Council Advisory Committee on TRIUMF, and the International Energy Agency Advisory Committee on TEXTOR. In 1999 he was made a Fellow of the Canadian Nuclear Society. More recently he served as Executive Secretary, Société internationale d’Urologie (1997 – 2011) and the Canadian Urological Association (2006 – 2010). From 1999 to 2006, he was a member of the Board of Generations Foundation and its President from 2004 to 2006.

Fatima Mahfouz - Secretary

Howard Ellner - Treasurer

Claude Laurendeau MSc - Chair of Education Committee

Claude is a graduate of McGill University (BSW) and the Université de Montréal (MSc in Criminology). Prior to becoming Director of Professional Services at Batshaw Youth and Family Centers, she had worked as a caseworker and supervisor in Youth Protection and Residential care. She retired in 2012 after 38 years of service. She maintains a strong commitment to the provision of mental health services for adults and children.

Jennifer Powe MA, MFT - Chair of the Clinical Services Committee

Jennifer has been connected with the Argyle Institute for over twenty years, first as a student in the IPTP and MFT programs, then as a qualified Family therapist, and recently as a licenced Psychotherapist and clinical member. She is a member of the Order of Social Workers as an MFT and holds a psychotherapy permit. Jennifer started out as a psychiatric nurse while completing a BSc followed by an MA in psychology. Currently, Jennifer is responsible for the Clinical Services committee, and is a member of the Governance committee.

Karen Hetherington MEd - Chair of Governance Committee

Karen has a Master’s degree in psycho education. She is a professor in the School of Social Work at McGill University and also teaches in the Mental Health Certificate program and in the School of Social Work at the Université de Montréal. She has sat on numerous Board of Directors of community mental health organizations, as well as having worked for the Ministry of Health & Social Services. Presently she is the President of the Canadian Mental Health Association – Montreal l Branch.

Ana Gonzalez MFT - Director

Ana is a Pediatrician who qualified outside Quebec. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Montreal. She is an MFT clinician in private practice. She participates in several committees including the practice of MFT, and provides the “DSM-5 and Child Disorders” course to 1st year MFT program students at the Argyle Institute. She lectures both in Quebec and abroad. Recently, her research interests have focused on ADHD in children. She continues to improve her knowledge of this field, in particular at Harvard University where she regularly attends workshops on this subject

Joanne Heward - Director

Joanne is a strategic leader with broad experience in developing, managing and executing results across several industries. She has 30 years in the financial services, customer focussed services and the retail banking sectors, including previously with Minogue Medical Inc., American Express Merchant Partnerships and the Royal Bank. Joanne leads a management services & consulting business The Heward Group Inc. where she works along side customers and their teams providing effective organizational solutions and business strategies. Amongst her non-for-profit experience, Joanne is Past Chair of the Board of Directors of The Action Centre. The Action Centre & The Action Centre Foundation (of which she was previously Executive Director), a bilingual multicultural non-profit community organization operating the only Montreal day centre for adults with severe and permanent motor or cognitive limitations, and supported by its own Foundation.

Alex Cooper - Director

Click here to view biographies of the 2016-2017 Directors in pdf format


Current members of the Argyle’s administrative team are:

Andrée Dallaire - Director of Administration - (

In 1980, Andrée received her diploma (DEC) as a Biochemistry technician. Due to health problems associated with chemical solvents, she reoriented her career towards administration. In 2004, she joined the Argyle Institute as Administrative Assistant. She left the Argyle in 2011 for maternity leave. She returned in 2012 as a self-employed manager of the financial aspects of the Institute. She is currently Director of Administration.

Mona Mayla – Director Continuing Education

Angèle Knight - Intake Worker - (

Erica Baker - Intake Worker (on maternity leave)

Abigail Free - Intake Worker (replacement) - (