In Memoriam Leticia (Letty) Cox

En mémoire d'une grande femme: Leticia (Letty) Cox, (1930-2018), fondatrice de l'Institut Argyle

C'est avec une profonde tristesse que l'Argyle a appris le décès de notre membre fondateur, Leticia Artola Cox, le 7 juin 2018.

COX, Leticia Artola 1930 - 2018 (Publié le 23 juin dans la Montreal Gazette)

In the early hours of Saturday, May 19, 2018, Letty peacefully passed, in her sleep, while in the home of her son, Tony, in the warm climes of Aruba, Netherland Antilles. Loving family surrounded. Beloved wife of the late John Robert Gordon Cox. Devoted mother and mother-in-law of Yvonne (Allen Annett), Tony (Lori Palmer), Sylvia (Robert Duquette) and John (Sylvie Munroe). Adored grandmother of Erin, Alexei, Stephanie, John Andrew, Gordie, Shane and Zara and step-grandmother of Nathan, Jody, and Ashley; and great-grandmother to Sebastien, Ilham, Jackson and Montgomery. Letty's vitality will continue to inspirit her family and friends in Canada and the Caribbean and beyond. No visitation. Graveside memorial service on Thursday, June 28 at 4 p.m. at the Hill House Cemetery on Brill Road, West Bolton, Quebec (Eastern Townships.)

Voici les témoignages de plusieurs personnes qui l'ont connue et admirée:

Cliquer ici pour l'histoire de l'Institut Argyle.

For Letty Cox small biography from the time she was at the Trafalgar School, click here.

Le 28 juin 2018
Je suis Tony, l'un des enfants de Letty.
Connaître maman, c'était connaître quelqu'un d'une vitalité extraordinaire - une personne à la fois amusante et sérieuse, à la fois engagée et avisée, à la fois stimulante et réfléchie - une personne qui était toujours courageuse. Maman comprenait les gens, aidait les gens, souvent grandement, et elle inspirait les gens.
Elle m'a compris et m'a aidé à me connaître et à m'aimer. Elle m'a inspiré à vouloir être meilleur et de toujours faire mieux, d'essayer d'être bon et d'essayer de faire le bien. Elle était, et sera toujours, mon héroïne.
Je sais que la vie de tous ici, et d'innombrables personnes ailleurs, a été fortifiée et s'est développée en la côtoyant et, en étant connue et aimée par elle.
Tony Cox, le fils de Letty

Le 28 juin 2018
J'ai rencontré Letty à la fin des années 70 alors que j'étudiais la psychologie du counseling à McGill. Elle était mon superviseure et finalement ma collègue. Elle était inspirante, gentille, chaleureuse, généreuse et pleine de vie et d'encouragement. Elle était terre-à-terre et il était facile de lui parler et de la consulter. J'ai toujours voulu l'imiter, et je l'ai considéré comme mon mentor.
En tant que collègues, j'ai été impliquée dans l'Institut Argyle avec Letty jusqu'à sa retraite. Sa perspicacité, dans la création d'un Institut de thérapie à tarifs réduits pour les clients et d'un institut d'enseignement pour les étudiants diplômés dans le domaine, a été si importante. Avec l'expérience acquise à Cuba, elle a créé un institut qui n'était rattaché à aucune organisation gouvernementale, de sorte que les thérapeutes pourraient être les personnes les plus appropriées pour diriger le service. Cet institut fonctionne encore après 40 ans. Elle a mis en œuvre l'importance d'être bénévole et cela continue. Tout le monde que je connais, qui connaissait Letty professionnellement, a été inspiré et touché par elle.
Je vois toujours son visage gentil, ouvert et ses rires. Elle était pleine de vie. Je pense à elle comme une personne ayant eu «une vie bien vécue». Je vais toujours me souvenir d'elle et l'admirer. Elle laisse un héritage spécial.

Carmela Mindel, Westmount QC
Psychologue, psychanalyste, ancienne présidente de l'Institut Argyle

Le 26 juin 2018
Letty a été l'inspiration et la force motrice de l'Institut Argyle, qui prospère encore des décennies plus tard. En tant que clinicienne douée, elle a aidé d'innombrables couples et familles en détresse. En tant qu'enseignante et leader enthousiaste, elle a inspiré des générations d'étudiants et de collègues. Son héritage est intact et on se souviendra d'elle avec beaucoup d'amour.

Andrea McElhone, Montréal QC
Thérapeute à l'Institut Argyle

 

Le 28 juin 2018
J'ai assisté au service commémoratif de Letty, jeudi dernier. Elle a été enterrée à côté de son mari dans un paisible cimetière, près d'un ruisseau, dans la petite ville où elle et son mari ont passé leurs années de retraite. Elle était entourée de ses quatre enfants, petits-enfants et arrière-petits-enfants provenant de partout à travers le monde; tout un hommage à une femme qui a entretenu et chéri, en tous ceux à qui elle a enseigné à l'Institut Argyle, le rôle central de la famille. L'établissement de l'Institut Argyle est un mémorial vivant de sa vie.

Joan Keefler, PhD, Westmount (Québec)
Thérapeute à l'Institut Argyle

Le 26 juin 2018
J'ai travaillé avec Letty à l'Institut Argyle pendant 20 ans. J'ai été très chanceuse d'avoir reçu l'encouragement et l'extraordinaire soutien autant de Letty que de Bob (son mari, pour des cours d'informatique). Les longues journées et le travail acharné de Letty, au profit de l'Institut et du programme MFT, sont ce qui, selon moi, a fait la grande réputation et le succès dont jouit aujourd'hui l'Institut Argyle.
À toute la famille de Letty, veuillez accepter mes plus sincères condoléances.
Repose en paix Letty.

Janet Shatilla, Kirkland QC
Ancienne secrétaire de l'Institut Argyle

Le 20 août, 2018
Lorsque j'étais infirmière à Concordia Health Services dans les années 80, j'ai assisté à l'une des présentations de cas de Letty à l'hôpital Queen Elizabeth. J'ai été très impressionnée par sa chaleur, ses rires et son intelligence, et par le fait que nous partagions un passé caribéen.
J'ai immédiatement pensé, je veux faire ce qu'elle fait, et je veux qu'elle soit mon thérapeute!
En 1990, j'ai commencé le programme de counseling à McGill et Letty était ma toute première instructrice. J'ai toujours mon carnet de notes. Mon rêve éducatif de fin de vie se réalisait enfin. Bien des années plus tard, j'ai eu la chance d’avoir une pratique privée enrichissante à l’Argyle.
Je suis à jamais redevable à Letty pour ses conseils. Quelle modèle elle était et quel héritage elle laisse. Merci Letty

Pat Hardt, Montréal, QC
Thérapeute retraitée de l'Institut Argyle

L'histoire de l'institut Argyle

L'Institut des relations humaines d'Argyle a vu le jour en 1982 par l'initiative de certains des membres du plus ancien établissement de santé mentale de Montréal, le Mental Hygiene Institute (MHI). Cet Institut était le point de départ du travail en santé mentale en Amérique du Nord, et Montréal a eu le privilège d'en avoir un. Avant que la psychiatrie eut été formalisée et que d'autres formes de psychothérapie eurent commencé, l'MHI était la création de parents inquiets d'enfants perturbés et de médecins qui cherchaient, eux aussi, des solutions pour leurs patients.

En 1945, la psychiatrie commençait à McGill et l'on s'est entendu que McGill s'occuperait des troubles les plus graves et que l'MHI travaillerait dans le domaine de la santé mentale préventive. À partir de ce moment-là, une collaboration est née entre les deux institutions et l'MHI a même été localisé dans des édifices de McGill. Grâce aux efforts de l'MHI, ce fut le premier travail conjugal et familial a être réalisé au Canada et le premier centre canadien a être approuvé pour la formation des thérapeutes conjugaux et familiaux. Ont également été créés les premiers cours d'éducation familiale, un programme de crèche d'observation et un service de recherche. De plus, les résidents en psychiatrie de l'Université McGill y ont effectué des rotations et ont été sensibilisés aux efforts communautaires de l'MHI. Le travail de l'MHI était en grande partie financé par Centraide et était guidé par un conseil composé de Montréalais de renom qui souhaitaient aider la cause de la santé mentale communautaire.

L'MHI a si bien fait son travail qu'en 1980, le gouvernement du Québec a décidé de l'intégrer à ses services existants et aux nouveaux CLSC. À ce moment-là, les salaires de ses travailleurs ont été pris en charge par le gouvernement, et leur charte ainsi que leur statut d'organisme de bienfaisance ont été cédés.

Certains des travailleurs concernés craignaient que le gouvernement ne mette l'attention que sur le travail clinique et que les autres programmes d'enseignement et de sensibilisation soient sacrifiés. Ainsi, l'Argyle a été formé pour reconstituer les efforts du vieux MHI. Après une année de planification, l'Institut Argyle des relations humaines a été créé en 1982 avec une nouvelle charte et un statut d'organisme de bienfaisance.

Leticia Cox, éducatrice et conseillère en vie familiale, a été l'un des chefs de file de la nouvelle organisation. Elle a entrepris de poursuivre, à l'Argyle, le travail de formation des thérapeutes conjugaux et familiaux qui avait été commencé au Mental Hygiene Institute. Dès le début, l'Argyle fut un succès. Grâce à un programme de formation reconnu par l'American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy, à des programmes pour le public en santé mentale et à des conférences pour les professionnels de la santé mentale, l'Argyle a rapidement été perçue comme une ressource dynamique pour la communauté.

À partir de ce point de départ en 1982, l'Argyle a grandi en nombre au niveau de ses membres bénévoles, provenant principalement de diplômés de leurs programmes de formation. En plus du travail conjugal et familial initial, se sont ajoutés: un programme de psychothérapie psychanalytique individuelle; une clinique publique multilingue qui fonctionne à un tarif très raisonnable desservant près de 1200 personnes par an; un groupe qui étudie les questions multiculturelles; une clinique pour les troubles de l'alimentation; un programme de soutien aux travailleurs dans des situations difficiles. De plus, l'Argyle explore actuellement la possibilité d'offrir un programme de thérapie pour enfants qui lui permettrait d'aider directement les enfants et les adolescents.

l'Institut Argyle a formé plus de 600 thérapeutes de niveau post-maîtrise qui ont reconnus les avantages d'une formation complémentaire en psychothérapie au-delà de ce que leurs programmes de niveau universitaire les avaient préparés. Au cours de la dernière décennie, le lien avec McGill a été revitalisé puisque l'Institut Argyle est devenu un site de stage pour les étudiants à la maîtrise et au doctorat de l'Université McGill dans le département de psychologie du counseling et le département de travail social. De plus, il est devenu un site de stage accrédité pour les étudiants de doctorat en psychologie de l'Université de Sherbrooke, de l'Université du Québec à Montréal, de l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières et de l'Université Concordia.

Presque tout ce travail a été effectué avec peu de dons financiers et aucune contribution du gouvernement ou de l'université, comme c'était le cas pour l'ancien MHI.

Depuis le lieu d'origine située dans le manoir de la rue Peel et qui avait été offerte gratuitement par McGill, l'Argyle a dû trouver des espaces de location au sein de la communauté. Les temps ont changé, et cette organisation ne peuvent plus compter uniquement sur ses membres pour un soutien financier. L'Argyle a donc lancé un programme actif de collecte de fonds qui, espérons-le, lui fournira des ressources qui lui permettra de croître avec les besoins croissants de la communauté en matière de santé mentale.

Letty Cox - une petite biographie alors qu'elle était à l'école Trafalgar

Letty a fréquenté l'école Trafalgar de 1945 à 1948 et a été membre du Fairley House. Au cours de sa dernière année, Letty était Préfet en chef, Directrice de Fairley House, Directrice de l'internat et Capitaine de la deuxième équipe de basketball.

Letty a été nommée Trafalgar Scholar & Explorer en 2013 et Distinguished Alumna en 2015. Son discours de remerciement est le suivant:

« Au lieu de me récompenser, je devrais leur remettre un prix pour tout ce qu'ils m'ont apporté, non seulement pour ma formation académique, mais aussi pour la façon dont ma vie s'est déroulée après mon expérience à l'école. Ce fut un tournant d'événements qui change la vie. »

 « Je n'oublierai jamais le premier jour où j'ai mis les pieds au Canada, en octobre 1945. J'ai dormi sur mon lit, dans le pensionnat de l'école, et je ne savais pas alors que le Canada allait devenir mon pays adoptif. Des souvenirs comme celui-ci restent présents dans votre esprit, et je me souviens encore très bien de l'endroit où nous nous tenions, mon père et moi, lorsque Miss Foster (maintenant le Dr Foster) vint nous saluer (au bas du grand escalier menant au pensionnat de l'école). Et puis elle était partie, et j'ai rejoint les autres pensionnaires pour commencer mon expérience à l'école. J'ai de très bons souvenirs de mes trois années à Trafalgar. »

In Memoriam Letty Cox

In Memory of a great woman: Leticia (Letty) Cox, (1930-2018), founder of the Argyle Institute

It is with deep sadness that the Argyle has learned of the passing of our founding member Leticia Artola Cox on June 7th, 2018.

COX, Leticia Artola 1930 - 2018 (Published in Montreal Gazette on June 23, 2018)

In the early hours of Saturday, May 19, 2018, Letty peacefully passed, in her sleep, while in the home of her son, Tony, in the warm climes of Aruba, Netherland Antilles. Loving family surrounded. Beloved wife of the late John Robert Gordon Cox. Devoted mother and mother-in-law of Yvonne (Allen Annett), Tony (Lori Palmer), Sylvia (Robert Duquette) and John (Sylvie Munroe). Adored grandmother of Erin, Alexei, Stephanie, John Andrew, Gordie, Shane and Zara and step-grandmother of Nathan, Jody, and Ashley; and great-grandmother to Sebastien, Ilham, Jackson and Montgomery. Letty's vitality will continue to inspirit her family and friends in Canada and the Caribbean and beyond. No visitation. Graveside memorial service on Thursday, June 28 at 4 p.m. at the Hill House Cemetery on Brill Road, West Bolton, Quebec (Eastern Townships.)

Below are testimonials from many who knew and admired her:

June 28, 2018
I'm Tony, one of Letty's children.
To know Mum was to know someone with extraordinary vitality - someone at once fun and serious, at once engaged and reflective, at once challenging and reflective - someone who was always brave. Mum understood people, helped people, often profoundly, and inspired people. 
She understood me and helped me to know myself and love myself. She inspired me to want to be better and to do better, to try to be good and to try to do good. She was, and always will be, my hero.
I know that the lives of everyone here, and countless people elsewhere, were strengthened and expanded for knowing her and being known and loved by her.

Tony Cox, Letty’s son

June 28, 2018
I first met Letty in the late 70’s when I was studying Counselling psychology at McGill.
She was my supervisor and eventually my colleague. She was inspirational, kind, warm, generous and full of life and encouragement. She was down to earth and easy to talk to and consult with. I always wanted to emulate her and thought of her as my mentor.
As colleagues I was involved with Letty at the Argyle Institute till the time she retired. Her foresight in creating an Institute for therapy at reduced rates for clients and for teaching graduate students in the field was so important. With her experience in Cuba she set up an Institute that was not linked to any government organization so therapists could be the people most appropriate to run the service. This Institute is still running after 40 years. She implemented the importance of being volunteers and that is still going on. Everyone that I know who knew Letty professionally has been inspired and touched by her.
I still see her kind, open face and her laughter. She was full of life. I think of her as “a life well lived”. I will always remember her and admire her. She leaves a special legacy.

Carmela Mindel, Westmount QC

June 26, 2018
Letty was the inspiration and driving force behind the Argyle Institute which is still flourishing decades later. As a gifted clinician she helped countless couples and families in distress. As an enthusiastic teacher and leader, she inspired generations of students and colleagues. Her legacy is intact and she is remembered with great love.

Andrea McElhone, Montreal QC
Therapist at the Argyle Institute

 

June 28, 2018
I attended Letty's memorial last Thursday.  She was buried beside her husband in the peaceful cemetery beside a brook in the small town where she and her husband spent their retirement years. She was surrounded by her four children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren from around the world, such a tribute to a woman who nurtured and cherished the central role of family in the many of us whom she taught at the Argyle.  The establishment of the Argyle Institute is living memorial to her life.

Joan Keefler, PhD, Westmount QC
Therapist at the Argyle Institute

June 26, 2018
I worked with Letty and the Argyle Institute for 20 years. I have been very fortunate to have received the wonderful support and encouragement from both Letty and Bob (computer lessons). The long days and hard work Letty put into the Institute and MFT program is what I believe has made the great reputation and success the Argyle Institute enjoys today.
To all Letty's family, please accept my most sincere condolences.
Rest in Peace Letty.

Janet Shatilla, Kirkland QC
Former Argyle Institute secretary

August 20, 2018
When I was a nurse at Concordia Health Services in the 80’s, I attended one of Letty’s case presentations at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. I was very impressed with her warmth and laughter and intelligence, and the fact that we shared a Caribbean background.

I immediately thought, I want to do what she’s doing, and I want her to be my therapist!  

In 1990, I started the Counselling program at McGill, and Letty was my very first instructor; I still have my note book. My late-in-life educational dream was finally coming true. Many years later, I was fortunate enough to have a rewarding private practice at the Argyle.
I am forever indebted to Letty for her guidance. What a model she was, and what a legacy she leaves.   Thank you, Letty

Pat Hardt, Montreal, QC
Retired therapist of the Argyle Institute

The Argyle Institute History 

The Argyle institute of Human Relations began in 1982 with the initiative of some of the members of the oldest mental health institution in Montreal, The Mental Hygiene Institute (MHI). The MHI movement was where mental health work began in North America, and Montreal was privileged to have had one. Before formalized psychiatry and other forms of psychotherapy had begun, MHI’s were the creation of concerned parents of the mentally disturbed and Medical Doctors who were also looking for solutions for their patients.

By 1945 psychiatry was being started at McGill and an understanding was reached that McGill would deal with the more severe disorders, and the MHI would work in preventative mental health. From that point forward there was a collaboration between the two institutions and The MHI was even housed in McGill buildings. From the efforts of the MHI came the first marital and family work done in Canada as well as the first Canadian center to be approved in training marital and family therapists, the first family life education courses, a child observational nursery program, and a research department. As well, McGill psychiatry residents did rotations there and were given an exposure to the MHI’s community efforts. The MHI’s work was largely funded by Centraide, and was guided by a board of well-known Montrealers who wanted to help the cause of community mental health.

The MHI did its work so well, that in 1980 the Quebec government decided that it would incorporate it into its existing services and the newly formed CLSC’s. At that point its worker’s salaries were taken over by the government, and their charter and charitable status were surrendered.

Some of the workers involved were apprehensive that the Government would only stress clinical work and that the other teaching and outreach programs would be sacrificed. And so, the Argyle was formed to reconstitute the efforts of the old MHI. After a year of planning, The Argyle Institute of Human Relations was launched in 1982 with a new charter and charitable status.

One of the leading lights in the new organization was Leticia Cox, Family Life Educator and Counsellor, who undertook to carry forward the work of training marital and family therapists at the Argyle that was begun at the Montreal Hygiene Institute. From the start the Argyle was a success. With a training program that qualified for American Association of Marriage and family Therapy recognition, programs for the public in mental health, and conferences for mental health professionals, the Argyle was quickly seen as a vibrant resource for the community.

From that starting point in 1982 the Argyle has grown in its membership of volunteers, mostly coming from graduates of their training programs. In addition to their initial marital and family work, they added an individual psychoanalytically oriented psychotherapy program, a multilingual public clinic that works on a very reasonable sliding fee scale and presently works with almost 1200 people per year, a group that studied multicultural issues, an eating disorder clinic, a Pride Team clinic offering therapy to LGBTQ+ communities, a caregiver program that supports workers in difficult situations, and they are presently exploring the possibilities of having a child training program that would allow them to offer direct help to children and adolescents.

They have trained more than 600 post masters level therapists who have recognized the benefits of getting further training in psychotherapy beyond what their University level programs had prepared them for. During the last decade, the McGill connection has been revitalized since the Argyle Institute has also become an Internship site for McGill University Masters and Doctoral students in the Counselling Psychology Department and the Social Work department. As well it has become an accredited Internship site for Doctoral students in Psychology at Sherbrooke University, Université du Québec à Montréal, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, and Concordia University.

Almost all of their work was done with very little financial donation, and no government or university contribution, as had been available for the old MHI.

From their original home on Peel Street mansion, given to them rent free from McGill, they have had to find rental spaces within the community. Times have changed, and they can no longer rely solely on their internal membership for financial support. They have therefore started an active fundraising program that will hopefully provide them with resources that will enable them to grow with the community’s growing mental health needs.

Letty Cox - a short biography from the
time she was at Trafalgar School

Letty attended Trafalgar School from 1945-1948 and was a member of Fairley House. In her graduating year, Letty was Head Prefect, Head of Fairley House, Head of the Boarding School and Captain of the second Basketball team.

Letty was named a Trafalgar Scholar & Explorer in 2013 and a Distinguished Alumna in 2015. Her thank-you speech is below.

"Instead of Traf giving an award to me, I should give them an award for all that they contributed, not just to my academic formation, but to how my life unfolded after my experience at the school. It was a life-changing turn of events."

"I will never forget the first day I set foot in Canada in October 1945, I slept on my bed in the Boarding Section of the school. Little did I know then that Canada was to become my adoptive country. Memories like this remain present in your mind and I still vividly recollect exactly where my father and I stood when Miss Foster (now Dr. Foster) came to greet us (at the bottom of the big stairs leading to the Boarding section of the school). And then she was gone, and I joined the other boarders to start my experience at the school. I have very good memories of my three years at Trafalgar."